Sandy Hook, the gun control narrative, and sitting with pain

Today, I recognize that the horrible elementary school shooting in Sandy Hook, CT, is the one thing everyone is talking about, and with good reason.  27 people are dead, 18 of them children, at last count.  Even with the rash of random shootings in the past little while, this feels like a new low, a fresh horror, and we’re transfixed by it.

I don’t really know what to say about it right now.  It’s just happened, we don’t even have all the details yet.  The shooter is dead, we know that.  And of course, the arguments over gun control have already begun. About which, as usual, Jon Stewart has better things to say than I do.

The Daily Show with Jon Stewart Mon – Thurs 11p / 10c
Aurora Shootings – Gun Control
www.thedailyshow.com
Daily Show Full Episodes Political Humor & Satire Blog The Daily Show on Facebook

But right now, I just really don’t have a lot of insight. I have shock, and sorrow, and a bit of numbness as I try to process still another tragedy in this screwed up world of ours.

So I’m going to sit with that for a bit and see what it has to tell me.

Published by Kamela Dolinova

Expressive arts adventuress: writing, performing, healing, loving.

Leave a comment