Tags

, , , , , , ,

As reported last week, I’ve finished my series on the 18 Principles of Rubenfeld Synergy Method.  About which I’m pretty psyched.  So I’m taking this Wednesday to put forth a couple of ideas on what the next series might be.  If you have opinions or thoughts as to what you’d like to hear about, please let me know!

The Classic Sequence.
I’ve written about the classic sequence in the context of describing a typical RSM session, but I believe that it can be broken down quite a bit more in the context of each body part touched, what they tend to carry and signify in this work, and how we tend to interact with them as Synergists.  I figure people might like to know more about why we go to the different parts in the order that we do, how the moves work and what their goals are.

The Body.
In the training, our first couple of years of week-long modules were centered around different areas of the body, starting with the feet and moving up to the knees, hips, spine, shoulders, and head.  What sorts of metaphors do these places exemplify?  What can we learn by listening to them?  What are the stories they tend to hold?  And how can we make our bodies better allies?

The “GROUND” of RSM.
In our very first week of training in RSM, we were introduced to the acronym “GROUND,” which describes the basis for the practice of Rubenfeld Synergy.  Not so much principles – which are beliefs we invest in when doing this work and seek to instill in our clients – as guidelines for practice, the letters stand for: Gentleness, Respect, Openness, Understanding, Noticing, and Discovery.  Each seems like a fairly simple concept, but they have some specific meanings and applications in this work, and taken together, form an approach that is singularly different in some ways from conventional psychotherapy.

***

Other ideas will occur to me, I’m sure, and I will continue to do one-off posts on various topics as well.  Please let me know if you like any one of these ideas better than the others – or if there’s any other topics or questions you’d like me to write on in this space.

