Tags

, , , ,

Hi everyone.  I’ve been doing NaNoWriMo this month, and it’s taking a lot out of me, creatively speaking.  For those of you who don’t know what that is, it’s short for National Novel Writing Month, which is every year in November.  During that month, the challenge is to write 50,000 words – a novel-length work.  When you break it down, it’s only 1,666 words a day – about six double-spaced pages.  But if you miss a day or get behind, it gets ugly quickly.

I’m recognizing this week that I’m low-energy and moody, and that’s when I know that it’s time to be gentle with myself.  At the same time, I also know it’s a time to change things up.  It’s easy for me, when I’m feeling unmotivated and sad, to let myself twiddle on the Internet for hours to no real result.  I stare out the window at this gorgeous fall day in Boston: it’s noon, but the sun is so low that the shadows of spindly trees stretch across the yard.  The sun is a golden knife, the trees flame.  And even as I write these words I feel better: better than I felt five minutes ago when I was obsessively scrolling through the sale items at Sierra Trading Post.

I know that if I try to wrap my mind around the next concept in the GROUND series now, I’ll be sitting here for another two hours.  Meanwhile, I have plans to go to the gym; meanwhile, I’m 4,700 words behind in the novel.

Today, the thing to do is get up from the kitchen table, go to the gym, shower, and then take a change of scenery – into a cafe where I can’t access the Internet without paying for it, to hammer on this book again.  So that by nightfall, I can feel that I did something with this day.

 

