Friday Favorites – Humility, Picaresqueness, Queer Narratives, and Balloons Goslings

Here’s my roundup of stuff I enjoyed this week in the ol’ blogosphere.

First, hovercraftdoggy per usual brings me all the pictorial love:

Scott Williams writes about humility and its crucial role in relationships: “I have come to understand that my personal self-worth, happiness, and completeness cannot be based on another fallible person. I have lived far too long trying to make other people love me, and failing. I have based too much of my self-worth on whether or not my spouse likes me at any particular moment. I am endeavouring, and I am not there yet, to find my security from within. I have this crazy idea that I need to get to a place where I do not need anyone to feel whole.”

A Passionate, Fragmentary Girl wonders if we can change the queer narrative in art: “Yes, there are many tragic queer stories. LGBT people are brutalized and murdered all the time. Brokeback Mountain does not tell an unrealistic story. But I think it’s critical that we stop and examine why the only popular gay romance story in film is one that ends in death.”

A blogger who got “Freshly Pressed” for the first time for this post: a hilarious review of a book with a really long title: “The professionals claim that the rules are simple: edit, edit some more.  Be prepared to kill your darlings; avoid clichéd turns of phrase like ‘kill your darlings’…Your characters say things, sometimes they may shout if the circumstances are appropriate: they do not exclaim, intimate, demand or do anything else that suggests you’ve engaged in the act of writing, which is gauche.”

Happy Friday, everyone.

Published by Kamela Dolinova

Expressive arts adventuress: writing, performing, healing, loving.

Leave a comment